When adding a group or audience to a document why is a new version of a document created?
When you add (or update) the Readership Audience for a specific document with a SharePoint Group or Audience you will create a new version of the document when it is saved. We have designed DocRead this way because we found that storing (and versioning) the audience as document metadata has these advantages..
- Each change in audience is recorded in the documents version history – great for auditing reasons. (Using this and “modified by” you can see who changed what).
- As the audience is stored as metadata, this makes integration with workflow easier. For example, if you want to change a documents readership from a small group to “All company users” this really needs to passed through an approval workflow, rather than just being allowed to do it.
- It makes scripting easier – for example, it’s quite easy to put together some Powershell to programmatically upload and set the Required Audiences. (see here as an example : update-multiple-documents-with-powershell)
- Existing customers find it very intuitive and easy to use. If we moved it somewhere else we’d need to think carefully about where would be best without making it confusing.
- If a document (with an assigned DocRead audience) is deleted (or moved), then if you restore it, the information relating to the audience is also restored.